"I know it sounds cocky, but i am already in my favourtive band" - Mike Dirnt(One of the Gods!)

· News
· Old News
· Newsletter

· MP3's
· Lyrics
· Interviews
· General
· Pictures
· History
· Members
· Gigs
· Reviews
· Equipment
· Videos

· Forums
· Register
· Off Topic
· Song Talk

· Links
· Legal
· Staff
· Vacancies
· Site History
· Contact Us

«Album - Insomniac. Release Date - 10th October 1995

1. Armatage Shanks
2. Brat
3. Stuck With Me
4. Geek Stink Breath
5. No Pride
6. Babs Uvula Who?
7. 86
8. Panic Song
9. Stuart and the Ave.
10. Brain Stew
11. Jaded
12. Westbound Sign
13. Tight Wad Hill
14. Walking Contradiction

This is Green Days follow up album to the multi-platinum selling "Dookie". Can they produce a better album than Dookie? Well the answer is I am not sure. I think that this album is differernt to Dookie so cant really be compared. This album is pure punk. Not pop punk, just punk. Billie Joe is still writing songs like he always does, about angust. Armatage Shanks main line is "I must insist on being a pessimist/Im a loner in a catastrophic mind!". The reason it could be called Armatage Shanks is because the toilets in England are made by them, and whether Billie Joe feels like this persons life is in the toilet... i dont know, and probably am betting against it. Brat is a snot-nosed punk song about some spoiled brat waiting for his parents to die so he can recieve all their money. Stuck With Me is the bands first single from this album. This shows that the band have decided to release a more punkier song to their last release "When I Come Around" and probably most others of Dookie. Great song, and its about things being "alright" or not as they actually are not alright. Geek Stink Breath, another release from this album is punk rock at its best. This song is about, ermmmmm well, speed. Well they are rock stars, why not?! Its about the highs and downs of speed. No pride is exactly what you would expect from the title. This person has no pride, and Billie Joe gives details. The anger in his lyrics are back again - "You better swallow your pride or your gonna choke on it/You better digest your values because they turn to shit". Babs Uvula Who? is porbably the punkiest song on the album, with the expection of Jaded. This could be Billie Joes alter ego, like when he is drunk, this song could be what it is about, or someone he knows. "Ive got a knack for fucking everything up/My temper flies and i get myself all wound up/My fuse is short and blood presure high" sound like someone needs help. 86 is just a song that Billie probably wrote when stoned or drunk. A song about not wanted to see someone again, and then he sees this person. Panic Song starts off with a really good intro. Starts of with Mike on Bass, then Tre comes in on drums, and Billie Joe occassionally adds a guitar in. This intro lasts for around a minute and a half, and then Billie Joe starts singing about the world not being what it should be, and their being alot of panic in the world, including in his head. Brain Stew is another single from this album. It was released with Jaded at the same time and was a radio favourtive, however didn't reach what it should have in the modern rock charts. Brain Stew is about Billies first kids, who kept him up all night, and so Billie Joe couldn't sleep. Jaded is another song that you get meaning from the title - about being jaded. Westbound sign is aout a girl leavin him for good. Tight Wad Hill is about a place in Berkley where all the druggies and drop outs went to watch a free game of football, because it is over looking a high school football field, and to do their drugs there. Walking Contradiction has a video, however was not released as a single on CD, tape or vinyal. It has a video for commerical uses. The lyrics in this song are very celver...Billie Joe says one thing, then in the next line contradicts it. All the music and lyrics in this album are very celver and go together beatifully, but one thing is for certain, it can never reach the kind of sky high sales Dookie did, which is a shame. The inlay card is very cool aswell, it is a actual peice of artwork made by one of Tre's mates, Winston Smith and is called "God Told me to Skin You Alive"


· Site Design & Layout by GDUK.net · All Images/Content are/is © GDUK.net · See Legal for info ·